Adding Roles to your Functionality

Roles are used throughout the user experience to restrict a user’s ability to see, modify, or interact with elements of the form.

By default, a user who has access to a form has full permission to save, delete, or modify its underlying record data. You can create user experience permissions at multiple levels to restrict a user’s access based upon the roles you have assigned them.

This capability enables you to provide fine grained control of every aspect of the user experience.

Example Video

An administrator of the workspace can assign zero or more roles to a user using the following steps:

  1. On the left navigation menu, select the application:
    Systems Administration > User Administration
    Under the Applications menu, select "UX Creator" then click on "User Administration"
  2. Select the user from the list
    Table of users in this workspace

Selected user

3. Select the Roles tab
The Roles tab (currently tab 3)

4. Select which roles you want to assign to the user from the Available Roles table on the left side of the screen by selecting the checkbox
Select the roles you want to add (in this case, GreaiIdeaz Client and GreatIdeaz Client Admin roles)

5. Select the right arrow to assign the roles to the user
Newly assigned roles appear in the "Roles Assigned to User" table on the right

To remove a role assigned to a user:

  1. From the Roles Assigned to User table, select the checkbox next to the role you want to remove
    Select the role to remove from the rightmost table
  2. Select the left arrow ß to remove the role
    The selected role no longer appears in the rightmost table

To make user enrollment easier, an administrator of the workspace can assign zero or more roles to an Invite User using the following steps:

  1. On the left navigation menu, select the application:
    Systems Administration > Invite Users
  2. Select the Invite User record from the list

The Invite User control

3. Select the Roles tab

Invite User control Roles tab (currently tab 3)

4. Select which roles you want to assign from the Available Roles table on the left side of the screen by selecting the checkbox

Select the roles to automatically assign to new users who joined using the current invite (in this case, GreatIdeaz Customer and GreatIdeaz Customer Admin)

5. Select the right arrow to assign the roles

Roles have been assigned to this Invite User link

When a new user is added to the workspace using this Invite User link, they will be automatically assigned the roles.

Updated on June 3, 2024

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Need Support?
Can’t find the answer you’re looking for? Don’t worry we’re here to help!
Contact Support